E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I’m trying to install a mfactory helical diff in my 325ci I bought the mfactory shim kit but I can’t seem to get my backlash tight enough even when using all the shims the backlash is wayyy to large. Also when I use all the shims it leaves no room for the cclip anyways. iv been tryna rebuild this diff for a whole two months :( I can’t figure out what’s wrong. This is my first project car so I’m not that knowledgeable

·
Premium Member
10,900 Posts
Pinion to ring
So you didn't remove the input shaft bearings or the pinion, but only replace the LSD carrier?
Adding bearing shim on the right while taking the same shim thickness off the left will reduce the ring/pinion backlash.
Adding bearing shim on the left while taking the same shim thickness off the right will reduce the ring/pinion backlash
But you also need to measure the output flange bearing preload to avoid damaging the overloaded barings.

·
Premium Member
4,697 Posts
Sure you have the right carrier for the ratio you have? There are at least 2...

Likewise, last I played with the newer diffs, you get one shim each side from BMW,
and you have to change them to get different thicknesses. Does MFactory give you
a stack of standard thicknesses?
I guess where I'm headed is, if you swap the factory shims, you'll be way off.

t
would call them.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
So you didn't remove the input shaft bearings or the pinion, but only replace the LSD carrier?
Adding bearing shim on the right while taking the same shim thickness off the left will reduce the ring/pinion backlash.
Adding bearing shim on the left while taking the same shim thickness off the right will reduce the ring/pinion backlash
But you also need to measure the output flange bearing preload to avoid damaging the overloaded barings.