BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, my 2001 330xi has more idiosyncrasies than Dustin Hoffman in Rain Man... I've been battling one of them for about 3 years now. You would've thought I might give up at some point and let a stealership or at least a local shop ream my wallet. But no! I am apparently too cheap and continue to deal with this problem.

My stock xenon headlamps blink at what seems to be random times at completely random intervals. Sometimes it's once every ten minutes, sometimes it's twice in 10 seconds, and it is in no way related to bumps in the road or any other external influence. The lights simply BLINK once, and it's both at the same time, so I don't think it's the ballasts. I'm guessing a short somewhere?

The only progress I have made is the connection this blink has with my driver's side tail-light. When I take out the one bulb that's different from the other two (looks like it has two filaments, part 63217160792) the headlights blink at a regular interval, about 1.5 blink per second. Also, when I remove the socket housing it does the same thing, so I don't think it's a problem with the bulb carrier itself...

I tried to do the common ground splice that a lot of people do, and nothing. I also replaced the original brown ground wire in the socket housing, and the problem persists.

I apologize for this being such a long post, but I wanted to give as much information as I could! I am tired of people thinking I'm flashing my lights at them in traffic, especially cops... that's always awkward...

Help me electrical wizards and car experts alike!

·
Registered
5,018 Posts
If the ground was burnt for a long time sometimes reflashing the LCm will cure the issue

·
Registered
119 Posts
This just happened to me last night :facepalm:,

The headlight blinked a couple times on the way home from Tim Horton's. I drove about 10 km home and it blinked about 3-4 times in that span.