BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 2001 330ci. I took it to pass emissions and it failed. The reason why they failed it was because the engine light would not turn on. The emissions place said it was some how messed with, so the engine light was turned off or asleep? I tried to contact the seller of the car I purchased and he didnt want to say nothing of course, but I knew he knew the real answer.

To make a long story short I found a loop hole, and I registered my car at my brothers city, which does not do emissions. So I bought the sticker for 2 years, so I don't have to deal with this **** again.

I am new to the BMW scene! Does anyone know what this guy did? I found this is one of the threads, but NOOO information... defouler mod help me pass emissions?

MY 330ci has:
headers, intake, rouge exhaust, ecu tuning. the seller dynoed my car at 260 hp and 250 lbs of torque...

Attachments

·
Registered
496 Posts
LOL the car has headers and no cats. So the CEL is supposed to go on because the post-catalytic converter 02 sensors are sensing the pollutants. Some people get tuners to reprogram the software so this code doesnt show up. All that matters is you got the car passed.

Still kinda shady on the past owner but at least you have every N/A bolt-on mod (except for cams).

edit: how does it sound with the headers and rogue dms? does it drone? is it too loud?

·
Registered
1,430 Posts
^ +1. After headers, the next step for a lot of people is to get performance software. Active Autowerke is pretty popular. This puts in place something that they call an "O2 Bypass" where it essentially puts the CEL to sleep and you don't have to worry about an engine light for emissions related issues.

260 hp seems a little far-fetched for a 330Ci though - unless it's a ZHP, then maybe. Did he provide you with the dyno graph?

Oh, and congrats on the purchase!

·
Registered
5,457 Posts