BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Besides intake, gearing, suspension, wheels, and exhaust, is there anything that would give my 325i sedan any more power? Please don't say "Just buy a 330" I have a fairly large budget for this.

·
Premium Member
1,631 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,631 Posts
Well I'm no expert in this department but after the stuff you listed in your first post your pretty much left with FI. If you don't want to go out and buy a 330 but you have a decent budget then you could swap in a 3.0l engine:dunno:

·
Ironman
01 330iT 6MT, 98 M Roadster
4,943 Posts
Besides intake, gearing, suspension, wheels, and exhaust, is there anything that would give my 325i sedan any more power? Please don't say "Just buy a 330" I have a fairly large budget for this.
Well, since none of those add any power...

OK, depending upon the intake, it might, but most do not. Same for exhaust.

Well I'm no expert in this department but after the stuff you listed in your first post your pretty much left with FI. If you don't want to go out and buy a 330 but you have a decent budget then you could swap in a 3.0l engine:dunno:
This is what I'd do (and likely will do somewhere down the road). Otherwise, a set of Schrick cams and a good ECU remap will make you a little power. You could add underdrive pulleys, and while a low mass flywheel doesn't add power, the engine revs quicker like you added power. Of course a decent header will add power, but you will lose your cats and be a polluter.

BTW, all of this is illegal in the People's Republic of California.

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
You'd be surprised how much "extra power" you unlock through maintenance + a fresh tank of Shell V-Power.

Get rid of some unsprung weight by installing lighter wheels and the car will feel a LOT peppier.

Throw out all the bags of half eaten KFC from the backseat and you'll gain 5hp instantly.

·
Premium Member
1,631 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts