BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’m new to BMWs and I would like to know what maintenance should I expect to do. So far I’ve had to do the water pump and the reservoir. Car was working fine when I bought it. But then I had antifreeze leak.

·
Registered
453 Posts
Nothing specific at this point if you don't have any maintenance history. I'd just replace parts when you have a problem. Installing a new battery and fluids and filters would be my next line of attack since you don't know when they were changed.

·
Registered
248 Posts
if you don’t have a history for it, then i’d definitely do some simple stuff. do spark plugs, fuel filter for sure, check control arm bushings, some people say fuel pump proactively, the list goes on. i wouldn’t needlessly toss parts at it, but the best approach is to solve any issues you may have that would leave you stranded somewhere before they happen. there’s tons of threads on different maintenance intervals on here as well.

a little trick i found was to sign up for my carfax maintenance tracker or whatever it’s called. it’s a free way to see what service has been done in the past whenever a shop put it in with your VIN. it’s free on carfax. great little tool.

·
Premium Member
2003 330cic, 2003 325iT
4,556 Posts
So I’m new to BMWs and I would like to know what maintenance should I expect to do. So far I’ve had to do the water pump and the reservoir. Car was working fine when I bought it. But then I had antifreeze leak.
There is a guide in my signature that I created based on working on 5 different older E46s and the collective wisdom of our fellow fanatics. It is pretty on point.

·
Registered
'01 320Ci manual
523 Posts
Well some preventative maintenance is required due to milage for sure and the lack of history.