BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
They are about the same price. The 528i is usually 40-50k miles CPO'd and the G37 sedan is practical new with 10-25k miles. Consensus is that the G has a better reliability in long term and also better performance.

I need a nice ride and some fun (so I don't get bored) for long daily commute 100 miles round trip. That's about 25k miles per year.

Unfortunately, I have no experience with either. My current ride is a 2005 330Cic that's just too rough for long daily commute. It has the sport package and I get a mild headache after 30 mins driving on the crappy roads here. :tsk:

Which is your pick? I love how BMW drives but cannot deal with reliability issues as I need the car for daily commute.

·
Registered
2,780 Posts
Infiniti's are great cars. If you can go newer with less miles for the same price that's the way to go, in my opinion. I like BMW's and Infiniti's, but the bimmer is definitely more a "drivers car" if that makes any sense

·
Registered
1,792 Posts
G37 6-spd

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I am leaning toward the G37. However, I heard it is not as refined. Engine is noisy and such. The paint is soft like my Maxima. Etc. Etc.

Hard decision indeed.

·
Registered
1,792 Posts
I am leaning toward the G37. However, I heard it is not as refined. Engine is noisy and such. The paint is soft like my Maxima. Etc. Etc.

Hard decision indeed.
I love all the "lack of refinement" BS. Have you ever driven a car with the 3.7? I drove a G37 Coupe 6-Speed and that engine has got it going on. I guess if you don't like gobs of N/A power and torque in the lower-mid to upper RPM range feel free to hate.

Fuel economy won't be great, so get ready for that though.

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #8