E46 Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Well now it's been asked 757,001 times because I'm confused by the things I'm reading in my search.
Sorry...but I'm an admitted newbie that is still confused.
I did search...damn it, but there's so much CONFLICTING information on here I wanted to see if maybe asking a direct question would get a direct answer.

Example...in this thread: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=791992&highlight=m3+springs
One guy says, "don't do it...it will raise the front of your sedan and make it look like a 4x4 because the M3 is heavier."
Then someone says, "your 325i is heavier than an M3 so it will ride lower and kill your shocks."
Others suggest, "throw them in and see for yourself."

I'm still reading multiple threads, but I understand WHY this topic comes up frequently. There's so much differing opinions on if it will or won't work I just hoped someone that actually DID this would be able to possibly get some insight.

I've been offered a set of M3 springs (2002 - 70k miles) for $25 bucks, so I just wanted to see if all this confusing info might have better answers if I was asking specifically about my car vs. this 2002 M3.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So from more reading, searching, searching again, and reading again...I'm still confused.
I think I've seen where some people have done this (on a touring specifically) but they didn't just change springs it was a complete M3 suspension (springs, shocks, etc...) change-over and were happy with the results. I don't see or I missed if the springs themselves can be swapped.

I guess it's a mystery because some people say they have done it, and some say it isn't possible or will look like a 4x4 because of the extra weight, and then some say no the M3 isn't heavier than a sedan, so really...just doesn't seem worth it after all. Nevermind.