BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey what’s up guys, I’m new to the e46 community and hope you awesome people can help me out!

I have a 330ci that was not going into gear and the clutch felt very soft during idle. I eventually turned on the car while in 1st gear and somehow got it into 3rd gear skipping 2nd on the freeway to make it home. At the freeway exit, I tried going into 2nd gear because there was a red light and traffic, therefore I was forced to stop. The exit was an incline, so I felt more comfortable starting on 2nd rather than 3rd. Unfortunately, I was unsuccessful in getting into 2nd gear. Now my car only turns on in neutral. It will no longer start in 1st gear or any other gear. My clutch is also very stiff, feels stiffer then the brake pedal. I’m guessing bubbles in the slave cylinder? Shift fork pivot? Anyone know how I can diagnose this at home? Thank you!

·
Registered
2,130 Posts
When you say it will not start in gear, does the car lurch forward when you crank it?

I hate to say it, but it sounds as if the clutch or flywheel itself has come apart, or something in
the bellhousing's stuck. Either the pivot, or the throwout bearing.

The way to diagnose at home would be to lift the car safely and securely
onto 4 jackstands, and watch what the rear wheels do.
If they're always turning when you're in gear with the engine running, then the clutch isn't disengaging.

You can remove the slave cylinder from the driver's side of the bellhousing, and try pushing
the rod all the way in (there's a spring pushing it out, so it's pretty hard to get it to collapse)

Then have someone push the clutch pedal for you. The rod should push out about an inch
if the hydraulics are working correctly.

If they are, it's time to drop the transmission. Which is a bit of a pain, as the bolts are REALLY hard to get to...
The rest of a clutch job's not any worse than any other rear- drive car.

hth

t

·