BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been fighting a rough idle issue on my 2000 328i for the last 4 months. The funny/sad thing is, I've owned the car for only 5 months. Back when I bought the car, it had a cold start idle fluctuation, so I immediately replaced the vanos seals.

About a month later it began idling rough again (when both cold and warm). The cold start idle would throw misfire codes on cylinders 2 and 5 along with an evap leak code after about 2 minutes of idling. I took the car to a bmw mechanic for diagnosis and an oil change. He recommended changing the spark plugs, fuel filter, and fixing a vacuum leak (back of intake manifold -> secondary air pump). I did all three, but nothing changed.

After extensive research, I made the decision to replace the entire CCV system with the cold weather equivalent. I had to modify the cold weather CCV in order to run the vacuum line from the CCV through the insulating foam, and up to the fuel rail. When replacing the CCV, I noticed that the original vacuum line running from the CCV to the fuel rail was broken. After everything was put back together, the idle was still the same.

Yesterday when I started the car cold and left it to idle, I no longer had misfire codes for cylinders 2 and 5. Now I have codes p1477 & p1478. p1477 means the leakage diagnostic pump reed switch did not open, while p1478 indicates that there is a small leak in the fuel evaporative system. This leads me to believe that there is a leak between the fuel system and the intake manifold.

When I get home from school, I'm going to check the top of the fuel rail, back of the manifold, and fuel filter for any potential vacuum leaks. Any additional locations I should check? Any other thoughts as to what the issue may be? Has anyone else had this issue? I'm determined to solve this idle gremlin.

Thank you!
- Patrick

·
Registered
26,261 Posts