E46 Fanatics Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

Thanks for reading my post. So I've had my 2000 328ci for about 6 months now and I'm still relatively new to driving a manual transmission. So I wanted to ask some experienced BMW drivers who drive manuals at what RPM do you regularly Shift to get the best performance out of your car. As for me I usually go about 2.5k between shifts but I myself think that's kind of week.

Hope to get some good honest answers here soon. Thanks again fellow E46'ers!!

·
Registered
879 Posts
2.5-3.5k is good.

Also, you can start in 2nd gear sometimes from a stop. Works just fine, and then you are shifting less.

Also if you use 1,2,3 , skip 4th gear and go straight into 5. Better gas mileage + less gear wear.

·
Registered
304 Posts
drive with a variable foot :) some times push it, sometimes dont.. just remmeber our engines love the revs... it enjoys a good "blowout" now and then :)

·
Registered
138 Posts
2.5-3.5k is good.

Also, you can start in 2nd gear sometimes from a stop. Works just fine, and then you are shifting less.

Also if you use 1,2,3 , skip 4th gear and go straight into 5. Better gas mileage + less gear wear.
If you do that, make sure to at least "stick it in" 4th before you put it into 5th (you don't have to take your foot off the clutch), so the synchros aren't like whoaaah wrong gear!

·
Registered
2016 340i xD 6-spd
26,983 Posts
Just don't slam it into any gear at all.

I'll shift out of 1st at 35 mph and out of 2nd at 6000 rpm coming out of tollbooths...but around town, if I don't need any torque, I might drop it into third going 20 mph...lots depends.