BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to the world of a BMW so bare with me. I just picked up a 2002 325xi with 118,000 miles. The car runs and drives good. The first issue I have is a service engine soon light coming on. When I test drove the car, the light was on. After I drove the car for a few minutes, the light went off. The dealer said it was from having new O2 sensors installed and it needs to have a drive cycle performed. Today, I went and had 4 new tires put on the car. After I get the car back, the SES light is back on. Would lifting the car cause the SES light to come on? Do trouble codes appear in a scanner when the SES light is on or the EML? Can autozone scan the codes?

Next issue:
I have put about 75 miles on the car since purchasing it. Last night, I didn't notice any oil dripping from the car. Today, I noticed oil dripping from somewhere on the passenger side of the car. The dealer said that the valve cover gasket had just been replaced. Could this be residual oil trapped in the cover? Are there any other components in that area that need gaskets/seals?

·
Registered
44 Posts
I suggest you bring your car to the local Consumer Auto Parts, AutoZone, PepBoys, Advanced Auto Parts, etc. and have them plug their scan tool in (for free) and provide you the OBDII codes. Then, you can research the codes and better pinpoint the problem.

A common item on these cars with that type of mileage is the rubber intake boots that are conneceted to the Mass Air Flow sensor. These dry out and develop cracks over time and cause a lean condition (bad) that triggers the SES light. This not always easy to visually spot.

Often times, replaced VCG's can still leak due to various reasons, such as a warped valve cover, improper torque of cover, improper or lack of RTV sealant in the leak prone areas. Is the oil leak making its way to the ground, past the plastic under carriage trays?

·
Registered