BMW E46 Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks for reading and your will to help via a reply, please read this entire message before suggesting to ditch the SMG in favor of 6 spd conversion because I am a disabled driver using hand controls so rely on an automatic acting gearbox to avoid using a torque converted automatic. Ok, if yer still with me, here is what’s going on and conditions I may be running under. To be honest, I want to set this thing up to run in extreme conditions so I can feel confident to compete in an endurance scenario. I Live and mostly run events in Texas so could easily be circa or over 100 deg ambient temp.

Car: 2003 M3 coupe SMG, relatively high mileage track only uses and moderately modified, supposed to have come with a “new SMG pump“ 1 yr ago. As far as I know there’s no tranny software upgrade.

Engine and relative mods: bone stock S54 with CSF rad, CSF oil cooler kit, and, due to previous SMG module overheating and per watching a YouTube vid, ran a 2.25“ hose from the removed driving light hole in the bumper cover and pointed at the module to attempt to “cool”, or at least move the air to prevent heat buildup.

Result after last nights evening runs at COTA (ambient temp 95 - 90 for the last run): About halfway through the sessions the little sprocket light on the dash would illuminate, hoping that it had just cleared the given temp threshold to trigger the light and that my new air ducting would keep it operating as demanded, it did not. It began to shift up in gears on it’s own, found myself in 5th or 6th very early in the back straight, and a couple times I think it even killed the engine, but surprisingly dumped the clutch and restarted. In an earlier run, I was coming off the track into my garage spot and it wouldn’t downshift to 1st, and even when it cooled down still insisted to start in 2nd, so I did, gently.