quickjack backup / six jack points? - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2019, 03:45 PM   #1
wfx32

My Ride: AWD
Model: 330XI 08/2004
Transmission: auto
quickjack backup / six jack points?

hello i am just getting started with diy on the e46 (2004-5 330xi) .. and i really like the new bendpak/quickjack 7000slx unit but i would feel more comfortable with some backup.

should i also place a jack stands under the front subframe and/or rear differential cover? i think those are the other two jacking points besides the four jack pads along the frame.

i know the quickjack has a robust locking mechanism, but any other ideas for some backup?

Last edited by wfx32; 02-27-2019 at 06:37 AM. Reason: indicate model
wfx32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 08:02 AM   #2
markusmarkus

My Ride: 2018 M240i
Never get under the car unless itís on either a lift or jack stands. Place the front jack stands under the lower control arms. The rear jack stands should be placed under the lower control arms.
markusmarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 01:44 PM   #3
wfx32

Quote:
Originally Posted by markusmarkus View Post
Never get under the car unless itís on either a lift or jack stands. Place the front jack stands under the lower control arms. The rear jack stands should be placed under the lower control arms.