2003 325xi no 5v crank signal - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2020, 07:53 AM   #1
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
2003 325xi no 5v crank signal

I have no 5v reference as soon as I plug my crankshaft position in but if I unplug my sensor and test for it off the connector I have my 5v signal until I plug the sensor in then I have 0.1v and Ik it's not the sensor I've tried 3 of them can anybody help me out I'm a loss I've just spent upwards of $500 replacing all the ccv, vacuum lines, disa, valve cover etc and now I have a no start bmw that ran when I parked it to replace all that stuff
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 08:30 AM   #2
cvx5832
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 4,687
My Ride: 535i, 325Ci, C300
Sounds like a short. Try a new sensor.
__________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

cvx5832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 08:42 AM   #3
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
I've tried 3 to no avail
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2020, 09:48 AM   #4
MrMCar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NJ Shore
Posts: 384
My Ride: E30M3 Track Car
Not seeing the car directly and that given all was fine when you started I'd suggest the KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) method:

Have you gone back over all of your work and made sure that all is hooked up, hooked up correctly and nothing swapped inadvertently?

Are all of the wires and/or grounds correct on the top of the valve cover?
__________________
Don Fields
////MrMCar
www.mrmcar.com
MrMCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 11:27 AM   #5
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Yes I've triple checked everything I can get the car to start if I unplug the crankshaft sensor but if I plug it it it drops my 5v to all the other sensors
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 11:33 AM   #6
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Is there any chance the connector maybe shorting when I plug in the sensor
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 12:42 PM   #7
TobyB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: car-nation
Posts: 1,552
My Ride: 2004xit, 2001ci
yes, it's possible- I was going the other way, and thinking there was a loose connection somewhere in the engine harness box.
That thing is a pain in the butt when you're working in there, and it's easy to stress and strain the individual wires.

Try measuring current draw (milliamps)- troubleshooting isn't easy unless you open up the box, which is a pain in its own right...

t
__________________
Quote:
"I'm sorry. I actually had to poop and ended up breaking the car."
- Hot Tub
TobyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 06:37 AM   #8
markusmarkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,531
My Ride: 2018 M240i
What brands of sensors have you tried?
markusmarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:27 AM   #9
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Duralast but they've all ohmed out the same as my genuine bmw one I pulled from the car I have a pigtail coming in the mail visually I see freyed insulation on the wires but that doesn't explain why it only shorts when a sensors plugged in I've made sure none of the wires are touching
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 02:23 PM   #10
Sapote
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: southern California
Posts: 2,895
My Ride: 2000 323i auto wagon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beamerman99 View Post
I have no 5v reference as soon as I plug my crankshaft position in but if I unplug my sensor and test for it off the connector I have my 5v signal until I plug the sensor in then I have 0.1v and Ik it's not the sensor I've tried 3 of them can anybody help me out I'm a loss I've just spent upwards of $500 replacing all the ccv, vacuum lines, disa, valve cover etc and now I have a no start bmw that ran when I parked it to replace all that stuff
There are 3 pins on the sensor; so which pin are you taking?
Sapote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 06:38 PM   #11
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Update I did some more troubleshooting today I found my 5v is backwards for instance if I take my crankshaft sensor plug it in and backprobe my 5v signal wire I have 0.2 until I put a wrench over top of the magnet in the sensor then I get my 5v this is making no sense to me I can figure it out for the life of me
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:09 PM   #12
Overboost
//Binary is in my DNA
 
Overboost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 3,410
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beamerman99 View Post
Update I did some more troubleshooting today I found my 5v is backwards for instance if I take my crankshaft sensor plug it in and backprobe my 5v signal wire I have 0.2 until I put a wrench over top of the magnet in the sensor then I get my 5v this is making no sense to me I can figure it out for the life of me
Seems you might be measuring the signal wire.
__________________

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

The older I get... The faster I was...
No Fear



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Overboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 08:38 AM   #13
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
I am I have p0727 code no start I looked online I should have a constant 5v until I break the circuit with a wrench but it's backwards I don't have 5v until I break the circuit which it should be the other way around correct?
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:43 PM   #14
Sapote
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: southern California
Posts: 2,895
My Ride: 2000 323i auto wagon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapote View Post
There are 3 pins on the sensor; so which pin are you taking?
I repeat.
Sapote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 09:06 AM   #15
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Number 2 on the connector yellow wire
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 06:33 AM   #16
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Car is fixed had a bad harness problem solved
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 08:26 AM   #17
MrMCar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NJ Shore
Posts: 384
My Ride: E30M3 Track Car
Glad you got to the root of your issue. I've been watching this thread.
Care to share for the benefit of all?
__________________
Don Fields
////MrMCar
www.mrmcar.com
MrMCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 10:43 AM   #18
Beamerman99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
I had to have it taken too a local shop that's good with bmws I had suspicions that it was a wiring problem but my meter told me other wise I'm not to sharp in automobile wiring so I sucked it up and sent it to the shop took them an hour worth of labor and was fixed seemingly easy for them I've been trying to figure it out for a week like I said I had no avail I could not fix the problem but all's well that ends well and I'm glad it's up and running again especially after putting a good bit of money in it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	461DAF00-CD99-4CBB-AA38-6CDB761274C9_1580312533076.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	176.0 KB
ID:	792499   Click image for larger version

Name:	67DB7206-A57F-454F-A897-AEB6A384370F_1580312581167.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	95.4 KB
ID:	792501   Click image for larger version

Name:	9D4B3F41-B973-41C6-82A9-B5751308B638_1580312600274.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	172.2 KB
ID:	792503  

Last edited by Beamerman99; 01-29-2020 at 10:47 AM.
Beamerman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.