Normal to have CPU usage at 65-70% with just browser? - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 05:14 PM   #1
ara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 162
My Ride: R35 GTR/99 Acura RL
Normal to have CPU usage at 65-70% with just browser?

My laptop's fan is always on, right now i have my browser open (opera) with 5 tabs. and only my anti virus running in the background. And cpu usage is at 60-70%.

I have a intel core 2 duo t5450 at 1.66 ghz, with 2mb of ram.

What would you suggest to look into? thanks
__________________
Be better, feel better, do better.
ara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 06:28 PM   #2
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,164
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
a new laptop

Right now I am running

3 google chrome with 15 tabs
Word
Excel
McAfee
Internet Explorer with 2 tabs
QuickBooks

I am at 1-9% variable and I do not have an amazing computer

Processes: 85
CPU Usage: 3%
Physical Memory: 27%
__________________
.
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
17 Time National Champs: 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2017. We WILL Get Redemption In 2020
.
.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Ranting about TVs, football, cameras, guns, diamonds, and HDMI since 2005.

16 Honda Accord Sedan V6 Touring (wife)
07 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD
68 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS
-------------------------------------------------------
07 Lexus GS350
00 BMW DINAN M5
01 BMW 330ci

Last edited by GlockMan; 11-02-2011 at 06:33 PM.
GlockMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 06:31 PM   #3
RogueStatus37
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: "Jersey Shore E46" Creator
Posts: 1,360
My Ride: '04 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlockMan View Post
a new laptop
This...


Im running a small tablet PC, nothing crazy, given to us thru our college and for the same apps your running im 07%-20% CPU.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2004 330Ci ZSP 6-Speed

Blackout grills l Smoked Reflectors l CCFL Angel Eyes l Gloss Black Roof Vinyl l BSW Speaker Upgrade l 3.46 Open Diff l BMW Performance SSKl M3 Style Trunk Spoiler
H&R Sport Cup Spring Kit l RHO Tow Hook Plate l Nokya Hyper-yellow Fogs l Stainless Steel Headers l Tuner Slotted Brake Kit l AXXIS/PBR Metal Master Pads l BMW AUX Input Kit

RogueStatus37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 06:41 PM   #4
JonJon
Tinfoilhatatarian
 
JonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: One of the most evil states ever to exist
Posts: 3,498
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to JonJon
A lot more than your browser is running

Check your processes and see where the hog is.
Might be a memory leak or virus

















Or the 2mb of ram
JonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 06:42 PM   #5
accolade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI
Posts: 201
My Ride: O||||||O
The virus scanner isn't scanning is it?

Go to task manager and click the processes tab. Click "Show processes from all users" and sort by CPU usage. Which processes is hogging it?
accolade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 06:47 PM   #6
ThEnder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 449
My Ride: has twin turbos
+1 on the new laptop. And stop using Opera.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ThEnder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:06 PM   #7
Aaron90
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arlington, Va
Posts: 273
My Ride: 328i
lol at everyone recommending a new laptop. Press Ctrl + Alt + Delete, click the processes tab, sort by cpu usage and look at the top process. Then go from there.
also, 2mb of L1 cache, not ram. haha
Aaron90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:08 PM   #8
slo323ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 223
My Ride: 00 323ci
stop putting it on your bed sheets to masterbate too

but check your proceses too.
slo323ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:09 PM   #9
SweTurbo
Big Pimpin'
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,899
My Ride: 323i -98
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThEnder View Post
+1 on the new laptop. And stop using Opera.
Opera is nice. bet you're a firefoxer ?

Oh and the t5450 is pretty weak. However you could try a reformat of the HDD and see how it fares after that, sounds like you've never formated a 4-5 year old laptop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron90 View Post
lol at everyone recommending a new laptop. Press Ctrl + Alt + Delete, click the processes tab, sort by cpu usage and look at the top process. Then go from there.
also, 2mb of L1 cache, not ram. haha
Quicker way is CTRL+SHIFT+ESC
In before OP freaks out that SYSTEM WAIT is hugging 99% CPU power
EDIT Oh and op said 2m of ram , not cache(by the level of his post i'd guess we wanted to write gb)
EDIT 2 Better way to see what hogs up your system is to sort the process list by private memory or IO Reads/Writes
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by SweTurbo; 11-02-2011 at 07:15 PM.
SweTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:26 PM   #10
deafboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 26,609
My Ride: 2000 323Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJon View Post
A lot more than your browser is running

Check your processes and see where the hog is.
Might be a memory leak or virus

















Or the 2mb of ram
__________________
-Cole aka bigtall*****
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-

Quote:
You'll always be pretty in my eyes, Cole :luv:
Quote:
i was like passed out while she's shoving the entire bar in my mouth. :rofl: :rofl:
deafboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 09:09 PM   #11
scott0482
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 676
My Ride: 1997 M3
Send a message via AIM to scott0482
I have a dell d620 laptop with a t5450 in it.. 4gb of ram and a solid state drive. the thing flies with windows 7 on it. it used to have 1gb and a loud 5400 rpm drive and it ran like crap. had xp on it. but the previous owner put a lot of crap on it, got viruses a few times etc. i am sure it would have been plenty quick if i reformatted with xp and left it with 1gb of ram.

what kind of laptop is it? what operating system? i am assuming it is xp. you should mbam that in safe mode, defrag, run ccleaner, and disable everything from startup except antivirus, touchpad driver (for side scroll), and maybe those igfxpers, hkcmd things that everyone has, and i still am not totally sure what they do

clean out the heatsink and fan too..
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by scott0482; 11-02-2011 at 09:10 PM.
scott0482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 11:51 AM   #12
ara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 162
My Ride: R35 GTR/99 Acura RL
hey scott, how do i check what's available on startup? Right now i have open browser with multiple windows, and cpu usage is below 20%. I don't know what was hogging it before
__________________
Be better, feel better, do better.
ara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 11:57 AM   #13
BartenderPlease
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 9,592
My Ride: '03 540i/6 M-Sport
Is the computer physically hot?
__________________

.............................................
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


'02 JR/Naturbraun 330i M-Tech I | M-Tech II Fr. | Supersprint Headers | Remus Sport |
.....| SM Flywheel Conv. | 18" CH'ish reps | Short Shift | Orion V2.5 | RCR LED Tail |

'03 JB/Schwarz 540i M-Sport 337 | Decatted | Short Shift | Carbon Trim | JL Audio | V1

BartenderPlease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 12:28 PM   #14
illogik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 310
My Ride: 325i, A3
start-> run -> msconfig.

Report back what's on the startup tab.

And install and run a full scan with Superantispyware (terrible name / great program).
illogik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 12:45 PM   #15
ara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 162
My Ride: R35 GTR/99 Acura RL
the keyboard area where my left palm rests next to touchpad is warm. I ran msconfig, disabled a few things. I have the super anti spyware, i'm gonna run it now, see what comes up.

thanks guys
__________________
Be better, feel better, do better.
ara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 02:23 PM   #16
ara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 162
My Ride: R35 GTR/99 Acura RL
32 malicsious items were found, deleted them. I realized what hogs a lot of power. I was watching boardwalk empire on "project free tv" with the video running it was about 60% cpu usage, as soon as i close the window and even now i'm at 10%. Does that mean my video card is crap? Or project free tv is crap lol?
__________________
Be better, feel better, do better.
ara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 03:27 PM   #17
_.dstrukt.n1ne
Registered User
 
_.dstrukt.n1ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1, California
Posts: 1,093
My Ride: AC Schnitzer E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by illogik View Post
start-> run -> msconfig.

Report back what's on the startup tab.

And install and run a full scan with Superantispyware (terrible name / great program).

Hijackthis would be a better choice, actually. It's more thorough.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Oregon, USA



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2000 323i | Brembo | Technik | HRE | Toyo | Meguiar's | AC Schnitzer | Alpine | Alumapro | H&R| Porsche | ASA | MOMO | Rogue Engineering | Rennsport | Hamann | Supersprint

_.dstrukt.n1ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 03:30 PM   #18
_.dstrukt.n1ne
Registered User
 
_.dstrukt.n1ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1, California
Posts: 1,093
My Ride: AC Schnitzer E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ara View Post
32 malicsious items were found, deleted them. I realized what hogs a lot of power. I was watching boardwalk empire on "project free tv" with the video running it was about 60% cpu usage, as soon as i close the window and even now i'm at 10%. Does that mean my video card is crap? Or project free tv is crap lol?
You have too much crap on your laptop.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Oregon, USA



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2000 323i | Brembo | Technik | HRE | Toyo | Meguiar's | AC Schnitzer | Alpine | Alumapro | H&R| Porsche | ASA | MOMO | Rogue Engineering | Rennsport | Hamann | Supersprint

_.dstrukt.n1ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 03:56 PM   #19
scott0482
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 676
My Ride: 1997 M3
Send a message via AIM to scott0482
It's probably some crappy memory hogging codec, if it happens when watching videos. Plus videos will use up a decent amount of cpu anyways, not much you can do about that.

Uninstall all the stuff you don't need. Run CCLeaner. (run the registry cleaner part of it too)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
scott0482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.