Auto to manual swap -- Hung up on starter pin - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2020, 02:42 PM   #1
lennylen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: CA
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2005 330ci ZHP
Auto to manual swap -- Hung up on starter pin

Hey everyone.

Appreciate any advice for this! See pic below for visual.

We are in the middle of trying to convert my E46 (05 330ci) from auto to 6spd manual. Decided to change the starter while I was down there. We put the new transmission in, except, the dowel pin for the new starter on the bell housing will not go into the top hole of the starter.

We have tried so many different ways to make it fit and it just won't go in. The starter won't stay flush to the bell housing because of this. (See fig.1 below)

Are we doing something wrong? I'm thinking the pin is larger than the opening of the starter and that's what's causing it to get hung up.

We spent the whole day trying to get it to fit numerous ways and just cant seem to get it!!! It's driving us nuts and it seems to be the hardest step in the whole swap. We feel defeated..wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy!

Thanks for any input on this issue.

Fig.1 see blue arrow.*http://imgur.com/a/sCWHnws



Sent from my LYA-L0C using Tapatalk
lennylen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 03:32 PM   #2
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 10,073
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Might be a burr on the dowel pin or the hole. A rat tail file or drill should widen the hole enough to let the starter seat properly.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 04:01 PM   #3
swordsman11868
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,066
My Ride: 2003 325i
Transmission: Autotragic
This is probably a dumb suggestion but maybe the starter for the manual and auto are not identical? Maybe check realoem for the part numbers.


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics
__________________
I'm just here to change the world.
BMW Wiki:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Are you getting hot air no matter where you set your A/C in your E46? Check out this ancient thread! Chime in with your experience:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
swordsman11868 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2020, 04:55 PM   #4
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 10,073
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by swordsman11868 View Post
...maybe the starter for the manual and auto are not identical?
Not a dumb question.

They’re the same for AT and MT.
https://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/sho...diagId=12_1092
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 06:42 PM   #5
Renboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Posts: 530
My Ride: 04 330Ci '08 Daytona
Every time I change a starter I always drill the hole out on the starter to be bigger so that it goes in easier, and more importantly, comes out easier if the need arises.
Renboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 07:15 PM   #6
cvx5832
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 4,720
My Ride: 535i, 325Ci, C300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renboy View Post
Every time I change a starter I always drill the hole out on the starter to be bigger so that it goes in easier, and more importantly, comes out easier if the need arises.
This. Had to do the same on that dowel. Also applied anti-seize to be sure.

On a standard drill bit set I remember one of them being just the right size to get the hole just that much bigger.
__________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

cvx5832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 07:50 AM   #7
MrMCar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NJ Shore
Posts: 508
My Ride: E30M3 Track Car
Rather than drill, use a taper reamer by hand and open up the outer 1/3-1/2 of the hole.
Clean thoroughly the pin with steel wool and remove any burrs. Clean the hole and blow out. Apply liberally anti-seize to poth mating surfaces.
Draw the starter in evenly with two turns of upper/lower bolts in alternate fashion to draw the starter in evenly.
__________________
Don Fields
////MrMCar
www.mrmcar.com
MrMCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 09:25 AM   #8
lennylen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: CA
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2005 330ci ZHP
Thanks for chiming in everyone. We dropped the trans and cleaned the dowel. Dry fit the starter and was a perfect fit.

The heat shield was in the way of the trans mounting properly in all the way and that was causing the issue. So glad to have fixed it. The car now runs and coding is complete. Just need to put it all back together!

Thanks everyone!!!!!

Sent from my LYA-L0C using Tapatalk
lennylen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.