E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-20-2012, 08:49 PM   #1
1hot325
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 87
My Ride: Bmw 325i
Hooking up a sub woofer

What is the best way to hook up a sub and amp on a stock deck of a 2004 BMW 325i
1hot325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-20-2012, 09:01 PM   #2
E46_330i_Stud
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 1,888
My Ride: 2004 330ci ZHP 6MT
Line output converter from stock subs. Wire up amp. Done.
__________________


1995 325i 5mt ArcticGrey/Dove - SOLD
2004 330ci ZHP 6MT SilberGrau/Black - SOLD
2001 330i M-Sport 5MT StaulGrau/Grey - SOLD
1992 Accord LX Sedan 275k miles all original - DAILY
2002 Chevy Suburban LT Autoride - TOY HAULER
2005 GMC Sierra 2500HD SLT - RACE TRUCK!
E46_330i_Stud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:03 PM   #3
Sanchjer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,182
My Ride: 323i e46 SOLD!
That is if he has stock subs. He may not have the harmon kardon system. In that case a line output convertor would have to be taped to one of the rear deck lid speakers.

Sent from my PG86100 using Bimmer App
__________________
Sanchjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:05 PM   #4
Kleen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Spring,Tx
Posts: 74
My Ride: 330Ci
one of these
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ADJUSTABLE-L...ht_1484wt_1270

and amp wire kit done
Kleen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 10:06 PM   #5
nonseqtur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 19
My Ride: '04 TiAg 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanchjer View Post
That is if he has stock subs. He may not have the harmon kardon system. In that case a line output convertor would have to be taped to one of the rear deck lid speakers.

Sent from my PG86100 using Bimmer App
Stupid question: I have the Harman Kardon speakers; does this mean I have (or should have) a subwoofer? Where?
nonseqtur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 10:10 PM   #6
Brinkley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: asheville NC
Posts: 1,502
My Ride: 99 328i, 07 z4 3.0
a line output adapter is what I used. Tap the rear deck speakers, and the remote wire on the stock amp (taps can be got at radioshack, very easy to work with) wire amp to batt and ground, perhaps add a capacitor, I simply used a standard sub box with 2 10s, fits in trunk fairly nicely. I also added fuse in the power line, and used a box that can be easily removed if I need trunk space or to put on spare tire. There are many ways to go on this, but truly it's not that hard, I wish I'd done it a long time ago.
Brinkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 10:10 PM   #7
G-Hots
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 991
My Ride: ///M3 & 328ci & X3
Send a message via AIM to G-Hots Send a message via MSN to G-Hots
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonseqtur View Post
Stupid question: I have the Harman Kardon speakers; does this mean I have (or should have) a subwoofer? Where?
you do. in your trunk. if you have a coupe its one black box w 2 6x9s under the rear deck. if its a sedan its two individual 6x9s side to side under rear deck
G-Hots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 10:12 PM   #8
UserBlade1
Banned User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ca/NJ
Posts: 39
My Ride: M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinkley View Post
a line output adapter is what I used. Tap the rear deck speakers, and the remote wire on the stock amp (taps can be got at radioshack, very easy to work with) wire amp to batt and ground, perhaps add a capacitor, I simply used a standard sub box with 2 10s, fits in trunk fairly nicely. I also added fuse in the power line, and used a box that can be easily removed if I need trunk space or to put on spare tire. There are many ways to go on this, but truly it's not that hard, I wish I'd done it a long time ago.

yupp
UserBlade1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:13 AM   #9
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,925
My Ride: 325Ci
Don't you guys think its better to tap into the wiring harness before the factory amp? Because it is a cleaner signal than the one that is already processed by the factory amp and going to the sub amp.

Thats what I'd do if I was adding a sub in my harman Kardon.
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:31 AM   #10
white46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,922
My Ride: e46 323ci
even without H/K, I would prefer tap it to pre-amp wire.
__________________
white46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:59 AM   #11
Brinkley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: asheville NC
Posts: 1,502
My Ride: 99 328i, 07 z4 3.0
Probably would have been better to tap pre amp and run directly to amplifier now that you point it out, with less wiring to do as well. But in my case, it's done and sounds good.
Brinkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 09:53 AM   #12
1hot325
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 87
My Ride: Bmw 325i
I like the idea of tapping in to the head unit speaker outputs to convert to RCA with a line level adapter how do I know if I have the HK system? My car is a sport package, does that mean anything?
1hot325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 10:07 AM   #13
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,925
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1hot325 View Post
I like the idea of tapping in to the head unit speaker outputs to convert to RCA with a line level adapter how do I know if I have the HK system? My car is a sport package, does that mean anything?
HK audio is an standalone upgrade/option. Some cars with premium and sports package come with HK audio as standard.
However, there will be harman kardon labels on the speaker grills on the doors and also a little ambience button(which has a speaker symbol) on the center console next to your DSC button. If the button is not there then you do not have HK.

Also, tapping into the pre amp signals is the best way to get the clean signal. Some amps do take direct input from our factory headset, therefore eliminating the need of RCA converters. So check your new amp to see if it can handle the input.
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:55 PM   #14
drumbum624
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD/DC
Posts: 653
My Ride: 325xi
Send a message via AIM to drumbum624
If you're amp has a high level input you can tap into post-amp wires AND eliminate the need for a remote wire.

But one great benefit of the remote wire is that I ran mine up to my center console and installed a kill switch for the sub. If i leave the switch on, the sub amp only receives power and turns on when the head unit is on. If I turn the switch off, the sub amp will not turn on whether or not the head unit is on. This is nice because I can leave the switch on at all times and know that it will shut off with the radio and not drain power when the vehicle is off
__________________
drumbum624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 06:53 PM   #15
1hot325
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 87
My Ride: Bmw 325i
Great advice thanks
1hot325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 09:59 PM   #16
K'KamE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 122
My Ride: 323
Any pictures of installation guys? Im a lil dumb to any of this. But I am looking forward to install my own sub and amp. And yes, I do have harmon kardon sound system also...

Recently I just purchase an adjustable line level converter, but have no idea of where to begin...

Help....:sly:

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Bimmer App
__________________

IN PROGRESS....
B&G SPRING I ANGEL EYES I M3 REP F. BUMPER I E90 RIMS I
AEM COLD AIR INTAKE I
K'KamE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:09 AM   #17
1hot325
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 87
My Ride: Bmw 325i
Here is a dumb question where is the battery in the 325? I thought it was under the passenger seat in the back but it was not.
1hot325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:11 AM   #18
E46_330i_Stud
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 1,888
My Ride: 2004 330ci ZHP 6MT
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1hot325 View Post
Here is a dumb question where is the battery in the 325? I thought it was under the passenger seat in the back but it was not.
Trunk. The fuel pump and tank is under that rear seats
__________________


1995 325i 5mt ArcticGrey/Dove - SOLD
2004 330ci ZHP 6MT SilberGrau/Black - SOLD
2001 330i M-Sport 5MT StaulGrau/Grey - SOLD
1992 Accord LX Sedan 275k miles all original - DAILY
2002 Chevy Suburban LT Autoride - TOY HAULER
2005 GMC Sierra 2500HD SLT - RACE TRUCK!
E46_330i_Stud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 10:08 AM   #19
Stinger9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,857
My Ride: '04 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1hot325 View Post
Here is a dumb question where is the battery in the 325? I thought it was under the passenger seat in the back but it was not.
Hey, you can look up this kind of stuff!
Go to the DIY section and look up lots of stuff to get yourself a real education. Pictures too!
Sounds like you're interested in learning!
Stinger9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 10:28 AM   #20
Sanchjer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,182
My Ride: 323i e46 SOLD!
It's under the black cover on the passenger side. Lift up the rear carpet and then un-due the plastic tabs and pull the cover off and there's your battery.

Sent from my PG86100 using Bimmer App
__________________
Sanchjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use