E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 22 votes, 4.50 average.
Old 06-14-2012, 10:33 AM   #681
Hrvat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Canada, eh
Posts: 2,772
My Ride: 02 Imola Red M3
I too have BMW Scanner 1.4.0 from Xcar360. It came with 2008 version of software. Little sticker on the cable/module says not to use any software but the one that came on their mini CD.

I checked Official PA Soft website and they have 2011 version available. Does anyone know if it's OK to use it with Xcar360/Chinese module?
__________________

PM ME FOR FREE SAMPLES

Quote:
Originally Posted by roronoah View Post
so 2004 bmw's dont come with a diff?
Hrvat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:34 AM   #682
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,923
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrvat View Post
I too have BMW Scanner 1.4.0 from Xcar360. It came with 2008 version of software. Little sticker on the cable/module says not to use any software but the one that came on their mini CD.

I checked Official PA Soft website and they have 2011 version available. Does anyone know if it's OK to use it with Xcar360/Chinese module?
Yes.
I used the one from the website. The CD I got was cracked.
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:28 AM   #683
Schlag96
Slightly Modded ///Member
 
Schlag96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 791
My Ride: 1999 323i
I started a paypal dispute for my obd scanner from xcar360 that I paid for 6 weeks ago and they sent me a DHL tracking number that shows my items delivered and signed for by a Fabian in Buenos Aires.

Enjoy, Fabian.
Schlag96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 12:07 PM   #684
Hrvat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Canada, eh
Posts: 2,772
My Ride: 02 Imola Red M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by trj View Post
Yes.
I used the one from the website. The CD I got was cracked.
Good to know. Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlag96 View Post
I started a paypal dispute for my obd scanner from xcar360 that I paid for 6 weeks ago and they sent me a DHL tracking number that shows my items delivered and signed for by a Fabian in Buenos Aires.

Enjoy, Fabian.
Craziness.

Check out www.kecool.com
I've ordered 3-4 times from him before and had no issues. Package came in within a week
I only went with xcar360 to save few bucks but it took longer for package to arrive. I wouldn't order from them again tho
__________________

PM ME FOR FREE SAMPLES

Quote:
Originally Posted by roronoah View Post
so 2004 bmw's dont come with a diff?
Hrvat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 03:48 PM   #685
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,923
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrvat View Post
Good to know. Thanks



Craziness.

Check out www.kecool.com
I've ordered 3-4 times from him before and had no issues. Package came in within a week
I only went with xcar360 to save few bucks but it took longer for package to arrive. I wouldn't order from them again tho
Got mine off ebay from US seller for 45 bucks I guess. I needed it immediately since I had done bixenon retrofit and couldn't wait for the delivery from xcar360. Guess I made a smart move by paying a little more to get it quick and easy. Now the same seller sells it for $69
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 04:15 PM   #686
lrp101
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ky
Posts: 59
My Ride: 2001 325i bmw
Great,, glad you got what you wanted.
lrp101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 04:23 PM   #687
deanthedude1977
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: southampton-uk
Posts: 64
My Ride: bmw e46 325i sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by PorscheDoc View Post
Just another option for Win 7 users: I downloaded the windows XP Mode from microsoft (google will take you to the site and walk you through it), which runs a virtual machine mode I suppose. Once you install it, open it up, plug in the cable to laptop and car, click the usb button at the top and select the cable that is plugged in, then start the software. Works perfect.

I was getting the drivers installed, but cable not ready error (red light only) until I did this.
this is what i done--also got it working on win 7 but much easier in xp mode no messing
deanthedude1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:44 PM   #688
lrp101
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ky
Posts: 59
My Ride: 2001 325i bmw
I'm so glad to read and hear about people whom have had so much fun with this obd reader. It's so easy to down load the drivers and the whole thing is just a piece of cake. It's a piece of **** is what it is. I can't get it to load the drivers no matter what I do. Windows xp mode ? That's what I've been trying to do. That and everything else I know. I guess I must be computer stupid because I've been trying to do this now for about 2 weeks. Using 4 different pc's and three techs along with myself. I'm sure some of you have no problem what so ever. I'm not having such luck and I'm done with it.
lrp101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:29 PM   #689
Kawabob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado USA
Posts: 16
My Ride: 05 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlag96 View Post
I started a paypal dispute for my obd scanner from xcar360 that I paid for 6 weeks ago and they sent me a DHL tracking number that shows my items delivered and signed for by a Fabian in Buenos Aires.

Enjoy, Fabian.
Tener un buen día.
Fabian
Kawabob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 04:19 PM   #690
Rodzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
My Ride: 2002 BMW 316ti
Hi guys,

New member here. I have owned my E46 compact for about 8 months now. I have been reading this thread about the BMW Scanner 1.4.0 and all the interesting things you do with it, so I went out and got one yesterday.

I've managed to work out how to code things like indicators flash on lock/unlock etc, all the basics.

However, I have noticed some odd. When I go to Car Ident menu, it displays my IKE odometer as 164,861, and my LCM odometer as 164,800.

My EGS menu displays 164,860.

My EWS menu displays 164,855 (which is the same reading displayed on my dashboard).

I cant figure out why I have four different odometer readings (all fairly close readings) in these menus, or how to fix it. There is no tamper dot. The car hasn't been mucked around with and is in immaculate condition. I purchased it from the lady who owned it since new.
Rodzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 05:24 PM   #691
Schlag96
Slightly Modded ///Member
 
Schlag96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 791
My Ride: 1999 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodzy View Post
Hi guys,

New member here. I have owned my E46 compact for about 8 months now. I have been reading this thread about the BMW Scanner 1.4.0 and all the interesting things you do with it, so I went out and got one yesterday.

I've managed to work out how to code things like indicators flash on lock/unlock etc, all the basics.

However, I have noticed some odd. When I go to Car Ident menu, it displays my IKE odometer as 164,861, and my LCM odometer as 164,800.

My EGS menu displays 164,860.

My EWS menu displays 164,855 (which is the same reading displayed on my dashboard).

I cant figure out why I have four different odometer readings (all fairly close readings) in these menus, or how to fix it. There is no tamper dot. The car hasn't been mucked around with and is in immaculate condition. I purchased it from the lady who owned it since new.
I read somewhere that the LCM only updates every 100 km. Not sure why the EGS and EWS would be different.

I'm guessing this:

164861 km ago your car came to life and started keeping track of mileage. (kilometerage? lol)

The car traveled a km or a fraction of a km before the transmission or its control unit was installed / initialized.

Then it traveled another 5 km before the anti-theft EWS system was initialized/activated.

I'm not sure how the manufacturing process worked but this might explain it.

When you get to 164,900 your LCM will match.

BTW I just looked these up for anybody else who doesn't know:

LCM = Light Control Module
IKE = Instrument Cluster Electronics (German translation = Kluster?)
EGS = Transmission Control Unit (German is Getriebe-Steuergerät)
EWS = Electronic Immobilization System

Last edited by Schlag96; 06-15-2012 at 05:42 PM.
Schlag96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 02:07 AM   #692
Rodzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
My Ride: 2002 BMW 316ti
Thanks Schlag96. You were right, my IKE and LCM updated when I hit 164,900km. Many thanks for your explanation, very interesting how it all works.

One other thing. I have cleared all the faults, but one keeps reappearing. Its under the ABS menu, and it always yellow (currently not present)- 5DF7 [24055] Vehicle power > 18 volt

Does anyone know what this is, and should I be worried?
Rodzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:22 AM   #693
Schlag96
Slightly Modded ///Member
 
Schlag96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 791
My Ride: 1999 323i
Well I got a new set of cables from xcar360 via airmail. I guess paypal disputes are a more effective motivator than an email to customer service.

We'll see how it works when I get a chance to hook it up. Looking forward to having a clean instrument cluster for the first time since I bought her. Freakin airbag light. Or should I say Alfred Hitchcock light
Schlag96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 02:16 PM   #694
silver tongue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 58
My Ride: BMW M3
I've looked through nearly half these 35 pages...and can't figure out if this scanner will read fault codes for the SMG transmission. Does anyone know?
silver tongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 02:18 PM   #695
silver tongue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 58
My Ride: BMW M3
Is EGS or electronic gear box control, the SMG transmission?
silver tongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 02:40 PM   #696
boongsin12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: US
Posts: 217
My Ride: none
Does anyone know how to clear these two SRS errors?
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-1.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	129.0 KB
ID:	456941
__________________

2001 330Ci
boongsin12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:29 AM   #697
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,719
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by boongsin12 View Post
Does anyone know how to clear these two SRS errors?
Attachment 456941
You can't clear an active code.

Fix the problem!
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:34 PM   #698
Starless
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 273
My Ride: 02' 325i
I have successfully re-coded my instrument cluster Service Interval. I change my oil every 10000 miles, so I set it this way. The way it comes from the factory is pretty useless to me since i do not wait until the car tells to change oil between 15K and 20K. I also set the value of liters of gas counted to "0". So now instead of counting 2450 liters of gas and showing 15K left to go before oil change or inspection my cluster shows 10000 and counts backwards actual miles and NOT liters of gas.
I think that's great because now I know exactly the number of miles before oil change and do not need to write it down anymore. After I changed these values I also reset EEPROM to get rid of the error that popped up after the change. No errors in cluster now.
Starless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:04 AM   #699
Starless
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 273
My Ride: 02' 325i
This is step by step the way I changed Service Interval in Instrument Cluster:

1. Go to IKE module:
2. Choose "Coding Data"



3. go to "Recoding"



4. Change your Service Interval values to your liking. I change oil every 10K, so instead of 25000 km I entered 16100 km (=10000miles). I do not want the computer to count liters of gas to determine the interval, so I put "0" instead of 2450 liters.



5. After you do this you will get an error, something like "EEPROM checksum is invalid". I have no idea what this means, but I found a way to get rid of this error.

6. Go to "reprogramming" and hit "Recalculate EEPROM checksum". Rescan. No more error.




It worked for me. It looks like the computer is counting miles now and not liters. I hope!! After driving around 25 miles it reads 9975 before inspection. We'll see how accurate it will be after I drive more miles.

Good luck!


P.S Hmm, I tried to reset the interval and it would not allow me to now. I wonder if more miles need to be driven before I can do this. I'll try to reset with the key and see if I can do that.

Last edited by Starless; 06-21-2012 at 08:01 AM. Reason: typo
Starless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:52 PM   #700
Starless
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 273
My Ride: 02' 325i
There is something WRONG now with the way it shows service interval. For every 15 miles I drive it takes 25 miles out. Since the reset of the interval I drove 30 miles and now it shows 9950 before inspection. Da
Damn, need to play with it more...
Starless is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use