E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2009, 03:28 PM   #1
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
Wiper motor blows fuse: NEED HELP

My wiper motor went out and now i replaced it. Afterwards it wouldn't turn on. i changed the relay and then i noticed it keeps blowing the 30amp fuse behind the dash. Every time. Also the motor came from a e46 M3 and i have a 325ci does that make a difference. I dont know what to do
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-17-2009, 04:18 PM   #2
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
No one wants to help me
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 05:58 PM   #3
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
If it blew a fuse it must not be compatible. Try using a wiper motor for your model. Or look up the part number and see if they match first.
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 06:45 PM   #4
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
Yeah the part numbers match i checked it on real oem before ordering it.
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 07:04 PM   #5
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
so did you replace the fuse again? and it blew? try using a slightly higher amp.
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 07:09 PM   #6
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
It uses a 30 amp. I know this is stupid but tomorrow ill try a 50 amp fuse.
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 10:00 PM   #7
Commander FAT
Network Analyst
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,484
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
DO NOT PUT IN A BIGGER FUSE. You have an electrical problem that needs to BE FIXED. Higher rated fuse creates the chance of wires melting and starting a fire. It's possible the motor is shorted out internally or is binding up causing excess current draw which blows the fuse.
__________________
Because the B isn't for bling.
Commander FAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:44 PM   #8
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
So i gues it definately is the motor.
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:27 PM   #9
B
OG Moderator Extraordinaire
 
B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 5,619
My Ride: 325iX-M3-525iT-M5
Send a message via AIM to B
what is the fuse number?
__________________
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:49 PM   #10
BodyMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Straight outa Lowcash
Posts: 1,971
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAFF112 View Post
So i gues it definately is the motor.
You might try to remove it from the car and use a separate battery or jump box to test it and make sure the unit works.

And as said don't use a larger amp fuse, that's a fire waiting to happen.
BodyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 04:46 PM   #11
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
Im getting another motor 2day. so thats 3 in one month.
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 04:17 PM   #12
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
Now i changed the motor and the wipers still dont turn on. i evern changed the relay again.
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 04:33 PM   #13
Chris C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germantown, MD USA
Posts: 814
My Ride: 2001 325Ci
+1 on not using a higher fuse. Bodyman is correct. That's just asking for trouble.

Do you recall what circumstances caused your motor to fail in the first place? Did you blow another fuse again with the latest motor?
Chris C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 04:38 PM   #14
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
No i didnt blow a fuse this time. But the first motor failed from some one reinstalling the wiper arms wrong when i got my car painted.
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 05:07 PM   #15
RAFF112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springfield Gardens, NY
Posts: 1,178
My Ride: 325ci M3 cbr 600rr
computer behind the glove box had to get reset. case closed
__________________

VCSL Front 18/13 Spacers Full Borla V2 K&N drop-in w/custom tube LED Interior air horn BMW performance shift Knob Seibon Hood LED DRL Dynavin Depo corners RE rear camber arms and Vogtland Springs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
I used to think love exists. Turns out it's a manifestation of insecurities and boredom.
RAFF112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 09:52 PM   #16
BodyMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Straight outa Lowcash
Posts: 1,971
My Ride: 2002 325i
Glad you got it worked out!
BodyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:39 PM   #17
Another BM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 461
My Ride: 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAFF112 View Post
My wiper motor went out and now i replaced it. Afterwards it wouldn't turn on. i changed the relay and then i noticed it keeps blowing the 30amp fuse behind the dash. Every time. Also the motor came from a e46 M3 and i have a 325ci does that make a difference. I dont know what to do
Where is the relay for the wiper motor...
i'm having the exact same problem on my 330.

My fuse is fine so its either the relay, the motor, or the wiper switch..

i hope its the relay, lol
Another BM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 02:32 PM   #18
kkeddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 145
My Ride: 325i
how do i reset the computer im having the same problem
__________________
kkeddy.
03 325i
2010 Civic SI
2001 m3
kkeddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 02:42 PM   #19
QuoteWarz Insurance
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cali
Posts: 249
My Ride: M3
You can reset the computer by unplugging the battery for 1 minute and then hooking it back up. There should clear it out.
QuoteWarz Insurance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use