E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-01-2009, 02:32 AM   #1
52bmw330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Moorpark/ASU
Posts: 42
My Ride: 330ci
Badly need help. Why are my subs not hitting as hard??

Hey everyone I have been really disappointed recently with what has been happening with my sound system. I have 2 JL W3V3 Subs powered by a Rockford Fostgate 1000 amp. I have the harmon kardon with stock headunit.

My subs haven't been hitting half as hard as they did 3 months ago. Whats going on??! They used to be ear bleedingly loud and too much to handle at full power and now they are very weak even at a top setting from my punch button. Does anybody know what this could be??



Im very beginner to sound systems and really would appreciate any help. Thanks guys
52bmw330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-01-2009, 04:37 AM   #2
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,472
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
Probably blew a sub or you are going deaf...if they are really making your ears bleed.

First, clean your ears. I'm not kidding.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 05:40 AM   #3
derek0606
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 930
My Ride: 01 330CI Orient
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjae1976 View Post
Probably blew a sub or you are going deaf...if they are really making your ears bleed.

First, clean your ears. I'm not kidding.


Check to see if you didnt rattle a loose wire off a coil....
derek0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 07:12 AM   #4
Many330i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 1,202
My Ride: 330i ZHP Silver
Make sure your gains are set properly - otherwise your amp is clipping!
Many330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:24 AM   #5
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,472
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek0606 View Post


Check to see if you didnt rattle a loose wire off a coil....
It is funny but I'm not being a smart@ss.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:49 AM   #6
blue442
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 47
My Ride: 330ci
or a torn/damaged surround maybee.
blue442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 04:46 PM   #7
derek0606
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 930
My Ride: 01 330CI Orient
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjae1976 View Post
It is funny but I'm not being a smart@ss.
I know but it still made me laugh.
derek0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 04:23 AM   #8
52bmw330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Moorpark/ASU
Posts: 42
My Ride: 330ci
ok i will check... one of the little caps was lost and ive been connecting the wire to the plug with a bolt.

If my sub is clipping, what do i do?
52bmw330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 04:24 AM   #9
52bmw330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Moorpark/ASU
Posts: 42
My Ride: 330ci
If i blew a sub wouldn't the sub sound absolutely terrible all the time? Because the subs still sound clear just way way way quieter

thanks for all your help guys
52bmw330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 04:43 AM   #10
Jefftc14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 120
My Ride: 99 328i and 92 H. pr
its probably the amp... (and just to be sure, u can test the subs by pushing them in gently and if they make a scratching sound then its bad, or once they are out the box if u even see the wires are fried then, guess what, the sub is fried lol. also u can take a small battery like a 9v or something and take 2 pieces of wire and connect the ends of the sub to the battery but leave one of the wires off, and then for just a split second place the wire on to complete a current and if the sub makes a pop noise or it moves then its still good.... if it doesn't do anything then either ur battery is dead or your sub is blown)

ok now to troubleshoot the amp... I'd make sure all of your connections are correct and connected REALLY WELL!! no half-assing it... u might as well just re-do them honestly... that's what I've always had to do.. and make sure the turn on wire to the amp is connected properly. most likely what is happening is the rca signal is still being sent from the head units built in weak amp to the subs and that's why u still hear sound, just not much of it... u can also take the amp somewhere to have them test it. but it could also be your head unit since its stock... I'd check your connections on that too of course. anyway I hope this helps.. feel free to ask questions and I'm sorry if this is confusing.
__________________
Jefftc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 11:57 AM   #11
B-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 186
My Ride: 2002 330ci
Take a look at the movement of the cone of both subs. Does one move more than the other?
B-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 02:49 PM   #12
Jefftc14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 120
My Ride: 99 328i and 92 H. pr
o and also make sure u have your levels on the side of the amp turned down!!!
__________________
Jefftc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 12:20 PM   #13
Jefftc14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 120
My Ride: 99 328i and 92 H. pr
any luck!?!?!
__________________
Jefftc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 04:34 PM   #14
52bmw330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Moorpark/ASU
Posts: 42
My Ride: 330ci
To be honest Im very confused. Thank you soo much for the quick help but everything seems to be fitting in the amp correctly. Do amps just die sometimes?
52bmw330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:37 AM   #15
Jefftc14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 120
My Ride: 99 328i and 92 H. pr
if its brand new, then no it shouldn't just die. I've owned rockford fosgate amps in the past and I love them and they are normally pretty reliable.. unless u peaked all the eq levels and turned the sound up to the point u fried it or something... but if u were stressing the amp by having the levels too high u would notice a distortion in the sound and a change in the quality of the sound tho.. but if u really can't figure it out u can always take the amp to best buy or to a local sound shop or something and they can test the amp for free or for a small fee... be careful doing that tho! I once had a place charge me 40 bucks to check my subs out and they couldn't figure it out, I then went home and in literally 5 minutes I discovered the problem....

I'll try to help u best I can... does the amp even turn on?? if the amp doesn't turn on at all (the light on the amp doesn't even come on) then there are 4 things u need to check... the + cable connections on BOTH ends of the wire connected to the amp, and the - cable connections on BOTH ends of that wire... MAKE SURE THE NEGATIVE WIRE IS GROUNDED CORRECTLY!!!! (sry for caps but that is really important!) then check the remote turn on wire running to the amp, it should be a really thin/small wire and it is sometimes connected to the rca cables running to the amp, they are all different depending on what cables you used... check both ends of that wire especially if the amp isn't turning on!!!! after that make sure both ends of the rca's are connected and pushed in all the way..

what I have had happen in the past when the same thing happened to me, is my remote turn on wire (that little one) came loose or it got worn out and started grounding itself on something along its way to the amp and so the signal is lost, meaning the amp won't even turn on and your subs are only getting the extremely weak signal from ur stock head unit..
__________________
Jefftc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:42 AM   #16
Jefftc14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 120
My Ride: 99 328i and 92 H. pr
o and I just read your post about the bolt connection... and I don't really get what u mean but that just sounds like FAIL. I say this because when it comes to car audio, especially if u have loud a$$ subs, all of your connections have to be absolutely perfect and tight!!! those subs can rattle all those bad connections loose if they are half a$$ed, and result in your problem u have now.. just take the time to do it properly the first time and u won't have to keep tearing your car apart and having to ride around without your precious subs!! hahaha trust me bro, I've been there and made those mistakes... take the time to do it right!!!
__________________
Jefftc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use